Forums.Counter-Strike.com | Counter-Strike Community Forums

Go Back   Forums.Counter-Strike.com | Counter-Strike Community Forums > Counter Strike > Versions > CS: Source
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

COD4 Servers
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2009, 04:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
s13slider
Member
Hostage
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

ya those things are stupid
s13slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mr.Bob
Member
THE ARCHITECT!
 
Mr.Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,974
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

Yet another SCAM?

Got this today in my email. If you have a forum account, anywhere, please use a different email that your Steam email as a lot of these scams run off forum emails. DO NOT GIVE YOUR INFO TO ANYONE, FORUM ADMINS, MEMBERS, "STEAM" EMPLOYEES, ETC. Steam has that info already and will NEVER ask you! I don't think I can stress that enough.


From: Steam Support (noreply@support.steampowered.com)
Sent: Sat 3/28/09 3:46 PM
To: "Email addy"

Please do not reply to this email. This email has been sent by a machine, replies will not be read. Hello, Someone (hopefully you) has requested to reset your password at the Steam Support helpdesk. If you did not request this reset, please ignore this message. To reset your password, please visit the following page:https://support.steampowered.com/res...b&key=naM6oIEj If asked, your password reset key is : naM6oIEj When you visit the above page (which you must do within 24 hours), you will be prompted to enter a new password. After you have submitted the form, you can log in normally using the new password you set. The IP address of the person requesting this password reset is: 24.122.183.19

Lol that's not even close to my IP!! Time to redo PWs!!



The correct format:


From: Steam Support (support@steampowered.com)
You may not know this sender.Mark as safe|Mark as junk
Sent: Sat 3/28/09 9:21 PM
To: "Email addy"



Dear "Email addy",

This email message confirms that your Steam account password has been successfully changed.
We are sending this notice to ensure the privacy and security of your Steam account. If you authorized this change, no further action is necessary. If you did not authorize this change, or if you need additional help with your account, please follow this link to the Steam Support site and submit a request for assistance:

http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-...hp?p_faqid=197

Thanks for reviewing this information and helping us to maintain the privacy and security of your account.



The Steam Support Team
Welcome to Steam





This notification has been sent to the email address associated with your Steam account.
For information on Valve's privacy policy, visit Valve.
This email message was auto-generated. Please do not respond.


DO NOT RESPOND TO ANY EMAIL SENT TO YOU FROM STEAM AND GIVE THEM YOUR LOG IN INFORMATION, EVEN IF IT'S A SUPPORT REPLY. Steam has that info already and will NEVER ask for it. Also you can confirm the validity of the email by asking Steam to send you an email request for a password change. It will contain the correct email address... support@steampowered.com and no email from Steam will be noreply@steampowered.com.


Added:


Just some good info from a mod on the Steam forums.

Hi,

I am a moderator at a two other Steam support forums, counter-strike.com and my clans, and I have noticed an increase of emails saying I need to update my Steam info or other "suspicious" emails and I was wondering if you, or Steam, had a posting of the emails Steam will use to contact you from? I keep seeing a noreply@support.steampowered.com and I have never seen that one when I use the support system. I want to be able to tell those in our forums what to unblock and to block the others. I just hate seeing the "My account was hijacked" threads pop up.

If you don't have that info can you direct me to a Steam staff member or a site on the Steam site that does?

Thanks.
Mr. Bob (-]ToC[- leader and CS.com support)

------------------------

Hello,

The only emails I've ever rec'd from Steam were from:

support@steampowered.com <--Store purchase
webmaster@steampowered.com <--Forum account related

You can create a support ticket if you would like or you can start a thread in the Help&Tips forum area. VALVe will never send an email regarding your Steam account asking you to update your account information.

Hope this helps.

------------------------

Sure does. I think those are the only two I have seen but I know I have gotten emails from the 1st one. I'll let the people on our sites know. As always I tell them never to give out info or go to a linked site just because someone says it's Steam, I say just go to the home page here and navigate where they need to.

Thanks.
Mr. Bob

Last edited by Mr.Bob; 03-30-2009 at 05:30 AM.
Mr.Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mr.Bob
Member
THE ARCHITECT!
 
Mr.Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,974
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

Here's a new one!!

"Dear Steam user, In our terms and conditions you have agreed to state that your account must always be under your control or those you designate at all times. We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your Steam account from a foreign IP address. We have temporarily limited access to sensitive Steam account features. Allowing your account access to remain limited for an extended period of time may result in further limitations on the use of your account and possible account closure.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you did not initiated the Log Ins, please visit Steam as soon as possible to log in and perform the steps necessary to restore your account access. Follow the link below and renew your account information:

http://emmanuelchurch.org/https/store.steampowered.com/..."

As you can see they don't know how to do links in emails to hide the actual address you'll be directed to. You have to look closely at these, don't fall for the scams.
Mr.Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 05:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ninja-Andrew
Member
Hostage
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam sites and scams.

Thanks for the warning mate, I'll keep it in mind if I see anything SUSPICIOUS! on the forum...
Ninja-Andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 04:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
silentassasain5
Member
Hostage
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: newjersey
Posts: 5
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam sites and scams.

wow so many scams out there.......got to watch out
__________________
~~WGFL~~
silentassasain5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 03:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
BIG MAC!
Member
Hostage
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam sites and scams.

hey bob, i created this account to get to you for help. my friend on steam whom ill call bob has gotten a warning saying that he is about to be permabanned on steam for account sharing. later into the message it says that steam gets this info thru multiple Ip's being used to play. down side of this is that it is true, not that he shares account but he takes his laptop everywhere and plays in multiple locations. here is link to the suspected website: steamcommunity.com/id/bfvSUPR3M3/delcomment?authorID=76561198004007126&timeleft=124 9001617[/url]

it seems fake, that is the site that he gets sent to, to log into and "verify" that he is whom he says he is. please tell me if this is fake or not as i really dont want to see him banned. also, i remember that the thing reached him thru a steam message like a friend would message you from an account called: Auto verifier or something in that nature and in the "verification" page provided it asked for stuff like his password and username, email address and stuff like that, along with what games he owns and dumb stuff. just fyi, we used yuuguu so i could look at the IM and check the site out VIA his screen. yay for screen sharing.

thanks for reading and in advance, thanks for replying. im sorry if the message is a bit confusing but regardless please write back, kinda sittin ancy here.
BIG MAC! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 08:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mr.Bob
Member
THE ARCHITECT!
 
Mr.Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,974
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam sites and scams.

Is this via an email?
Mr.Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scam warning. Mr.Bob General Talk 10 07-17-2009 08:28 AM
Workable Fake Client? ecko_ AMX Mod X 1 12-23-2008 04:06 PM
Warning Cl_flushentityPacket ... tamothi Condition Zero 8 10-19-2008 09:26 PM
Gaming Sites cull501 Leagues 3 12-14-2007 04:05 PM
Sites To Top Clans L00kBack Famous Clans 2 02-01-2007 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC5
Free Clan Websites and Template Hosting