Forums.Counter-Strike.com | Counter-Strike Community Forums

Go Back   Forums.Counter-Strike.com | Counter-Strike Community Forums > Counter Strike > Versions > Counter Strike 1.6
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

COD4 Servers
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2008, 02:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Mr.Bob
Member
THE ARCHITECT!
 
Mr.Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,975
Default Warning: Fake Steam sites and scams.

Everyone who has an account on any forums where your email is public needs to be aware of a scam going on. There seems to be someone who is posing as a Steam employee offering a free version of the Steam Beta for testing. DO NOT LOG INTO THEIR SITE. It is a trap to steal your log in information and hijack your account. If you get anything from Steam the website you are directed to will be http://www.Steampowered.com/... and nothing else. VALVe should not have a need to contact you. Both Steam and VALVe will NEVER ask for account information, they don't need to, they already have it. If you get an email that your think might be suspicious delete it, go to Steampowered.com and look at the announcements. Anything you need to know of will be in the news sections on the main page or in their forums.


Direct from STEAM's warning pages.:

"Method

People are being contacted (usually via email) and offered the opportunity to participate in a Beta for Half-Life 2: Episode 2.

The offer generally comes with this image or one similar:

Image of bogus offer

The offer may request the user respond to emails such as:

steampoweredgiveaway@yahoo.com
beta@steampowered.com

Response

This is not a legitimate offer.

You can expect any Steam-related promotions to be offered through:

http://www.Steampowered.com

VALVe will NEVER contact you from or ask you to respond to a free email provider.

Action

If you have responded and provided your Steam Account information you should immediately try to change your password to something else.

If this fails you will need to read the following FAQs:

Reclaiming a Hijacked Steam Account
Contacting VALVe Billing and Support
Account Security Recommendations"

I had to delete about 12 posts from this site with the same lick to the site that is bogus. The users will be banned.

Mods need to watch out for these.

Users here should hide email address from the public and give them to those you trust in a personal message (PM).
Mr.Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
CaRnAgE!
Moderator
Da Bomb Defuser
 
CaRnAgE!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,056
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

the REAL steam website is:

Welcome to Steam

and the REAL steam community is:

www.steamcommunity.com

anything different, is a scam. make sure your internet or antivirus phishing filter is set to ON
__________________
Always Outnumbered
Never Outgunned

HighTimes Gaming
CaRnAgE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mr.Bob
Member
THE ARCHITECT!
 
Mr.Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,975
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRnAgE! View Post
the REAL steam website is:

Welcome to Steam

and the REAL steam community is:

www.steamcommunity.com

anything different, is a scam. make sure your internet or antivirus phishing filter is set to ON


I dislike the URL changer here. We try to show the url and it edits it!!

www. steampowered.com
Mr.Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Antridas
Member
Hostage
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

Hey thanks for the warning dude
Antridas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mr.Bob
Member
THE ARCHITECT!
 
Mr.Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,975
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

No prob. There's a lot of these scams out there and unfortunately too many people don't pay attention to web address so I wanted to post about this.
Mr.Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 05:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
pwmzkiflkowy
Member
Hostage
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

u know that
pwmzkiflkowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
fast-head
Member
Hostage
 
fast-head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Warning: Fake Steam Sites...

Safe 4 that m8
__________________
FAST HEADOR COUNTER STRIKE SOURCE CLAN:
is recruiting clan members, click on banner for more infos!




OUR DUST SERVER:
hlsw://91.192.100.8:27015

OUR GUN GAME SERVER:
hlsw://91.192.100.8:27000


HLSTATX | HITBOX | BETTING | VOTING | SOUND 4 ALL |
fast-head is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scam warning. Mr.Bob General Talk 12 Yesterday 04:06 PM
Warning: Fake Steam sites and scams. Mr.Bob CS: Source 16 10-07-2009 01:28 AM
Workable Fake Client? ecko_ AMX Mod X 1 12-23-2008 04:06 PM
Warning Cl_flushentityPacket ... tamothi Condition Zero 8 10-19-2008 09:26 PM
Gaming Sites cull501 Leagues 3 12-14-2007 04:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC5
Free Clan Websites and Template Hosting